Skip to content

Waffles, Please!

January 11, 2012

There’s been a little excitement in our house the past couple of days. 

This arrived on Monday.

 

Presto 3510 FlipSide Belgian Waffle Maker

Riley, the Princess, is probably the world’s biggest lover of waffles.  I don’t particularly care for the waffles in your nearest freezer section and I really don’t like the laundry list of ingredients they contain.  So as a late birthday present, she got her very own waffle maker so she can have her precious waffles whenever her little heart desires.  So far, it’s been yesterday for breakfast, today for breakfast, and tonight for dinner.  I used this recipe.  Definitely not “healthy” by any means but not full of artificial ingredients and definitely much, much tastier.  I haven’t been able to find the answer online, but can any pancake recipe be used to make waffles?  I’d like to experiment with different recipes, but it will be really hard to compare them to how ahh-mazing the above recipe was.  We topped them with fresh whipped cream and fruit.  The Princess even got sprinkles on hers 🙂

All that waffle lovin’ was making me really crave some vegetables.  Strange for a girl who ate maybe a piece of iceberg lettuce here and there and considered potatoes and corn vegetables for her first 25 years of life.  My kids unfortunately seem to also be veggie-haters, but I’ll keep trying until they come around.  Like today for lunch, I made eggplant parmesan.  I told them it was lasagna.  Hehehe.

 

image

Obviously I’m not a photographer 😉  A side of roasted broccoli for me and a side of unsweetened applesauce for the kiddos.  Even a glass of green tea, which honestly was not quite so palatable as its flavored varieties. 

It was another unseasonably warm day here today, probably the last one for a while.  We enjoyed most of our afternoon outside. 

But for now, the snow is coming!!  Winter Weather Advisory til Friday!  Eeeek!

Do you like winter?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2012 2:42 am

    I am proud of parents that continue to push vegetables. It scares me that so many kids eat chips, pb&j, pudding, and soda for lunch. This is an okay meal every once in a while, but vegetables are necessary for a healthy diet. How do you plan to handle lunches next year when your son is in school all day?

    • January 12, 2012 3:33 pm

      I’m not sure yet! I remember being a kid and asking my mom for white bread, lunchables, and nutty bars like everyone else had! I know we won’t be doing that. Getting them to eat vegetables is definitely a work in progress, but I keep offering them and the kids see me eat them all the time.

Leave a Reply

