Skip to content

Meal-Planning Blues

January 21, 2012

Happy Friday 🙂

Ever since I’ve become a stay at home mom, all the days just kind of run together.  Half the time I have no clue what day it is, and my husband having days off during the week just adds to my confusion. 

I sat down earlier today, in hopes of making out a meal plan for the next week so I can get groceries on Sunday.  I wish I could be one of those people who can just throw together a week or two’s worth of meals together in an hour or less.  I’m just not that organized and I tend to get distracted easily. SQUIRREL!  I have to make sure my husband has something he can eat rather quickly at work, and enough food to tide him over for a 12-hour shift.  I have to account for Mr. Plain, aka Peter, who does not like any flavors outside of bland and will NOT touch anything green in hue.  If he thinks it’s nasty, then Riley will also refuse to eat it, although I think she would like most things.  She’s a stubborn little thing.  And then there’s the different tastes between my husband and me.  I love bell peppers, spinach, whole grain flours, larabars, eggplant parmesan, and easy things just thrown together (like a bowl of oatmeal and not a 3-course meal); he does not.  He likes seafood, fish, onions, hard-cooked eggs, milk, cottage cheese, and plain steamed veggies; I do not.  And as much as he will deny it, he does not like eating leftovers.  I want to feed my family nutritious food but I also have a very small grocery budget and I cannot buy groceries like I used to buy them a couple years ago, when we still had the nice Army paycheck.  So you can see my dilemma here.  I feel like every week, we eat the same things.  Or at least every month.  Homemade pizza, lasagna, baked chicken, grilled chicken, tacos, ham, eggs, etc.  Same ‘ole stuff.  I’m feeling overwhelmed just thinking about it.  Do you meal-plan?  Have any tips for me?

My sister suggested searching on Pinterest but I’m always drawn to things that should definitely, never, ever, get in my belly.  Case in point:

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough CheesecakeCheesy Chicken Ranch Lasagna

 

Pinned Image

Ohhhh the cheese and butter and flour combinations…

Besides that, my husband did something in typical husband fashion today.  Send him to the bookstore to buy his books, and he comes home with this

He is SO not allowed to go shopping by himself anymore 😉  He’s been looking to trade in his truck for quite some time now.  The gas mileage was killing us and we couldn’t fit 3 carseats in the back very easily at all.  Plus a laundry list of other problems…not our problem anymore!  I’m excited to start off the new year saving at least $200/month in gas.  I miss the days of $0.99/gallon.  Think we’ll ever see them again?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2012 11:30 pm

    Nice Car! That is quite an upgrade from a truck! 😀

    • January 22, 2012 5:00 pm

      most definitely! Hubs has always been a truck guy, but 12mpg was killing us! Now he will be getting more than double that and this car is all-wheel drive 🙂

      • January 22, 2012 8:18 pm

        He was so close to where I live when he bought that car! 😀

Leave a Reply

