Skip to content

Consistency

February 8, 2012

I’m not sure what’s with me lately, but I’ve just been feeling super un-motivated!  I do not want to clean my house, I do not want to read, I do not want to exercise, I do not want to write, and I do not want to cook!  I’ve been doing it all anyway, but just kind of the bare minimum.  I haven’t been feeling any workouts which is really strange. 

Ever just feel un-motivated out of the blue?

I saw something on the local news tonight that I’ve been thinking a lot about lately, which is consistency.  The key to losing weight (or gaining weight) is being consistent.  When I’ve been at my heaviest, it is because I was consistently making BAD choices.  Like eating a lot of junk (frozen pizzas, cookies, chips, fast food) and not being active.  It took a lot of time of being consistently unhealthy to gain all the weight that I did.  On the other hand, when I am consistently eating clean and keeping up with my workouts, I start losing weight and toning up.  There’s not any big fancy program I follow; I just know that all the little choices add up to big changes.  So part of being consistent is working out when I would rather be watching TV or doing housework.  If I do not do a workout every time I don’t feel like it, I will start the weight-gaining cycle allll over again.  If I eat junk food every time I have a craving, I have now moved into the category of making consistently bad choices.  I have gone back and forth so many times now that I just have no desire to head towards self-destruction any more.  I have my off days where I eat pizza and drink a Coke but one or two nights of that a month does not cancel out the rest of my month where I’ve been living a healthy lifestyle.  Just as eating a couple healthy meals a month does not make someone lose weight. 

Moving on,

Every Monday is Library day.  I take the kids to a playgroup at the library and their reward for behaving for that whole hour is getting to pick out their own books. If one of them gets a little too rowdy, then I pick out the books for the week.    Since Peter thinks story-time is the perfect opportunity to demonstrate his ability to fly (read: jump off the top of the elevated seating area and sprint around the aisles of books) he doesn’t always get to pick out what we bring home 🙂  I have been trying to think about books I enjoyed as a child, and each week I have been finding some.  This week I was excited for

Product Image

I so remember reading this book as a kid.  The mild-mannered Miss Nelson, has had enough with her disruptive and disrespectful class and the students get a new teacher, Miss Viola Swamp.  Viola Swamp restores order to the classroom and after the children start to behave, Miss Nelson returns to teach the class of curteous and respectful children.  If only they knew Miss Nelson was just wearing a wig and an ugly black dress 😉

What are some of your favorite books from childhood?

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2012 7:45 pm

    Hope you are going well. Havent seen you post in a while!

  2. February 28, 2012 3:08 am

    I have been in an unmotivated mood myself. You are so right – smalls steps in creating a routine- especially for working out- leads to being consistent in other areas of my life.

    That’s been my experience anyway…

Leave a Reply

